TA Fall In-Service 2014

My fellow consultant in the middle/high school tobacco prevention initiative, Say What!, that I work with wrote this awesome blog that sums up what it is like to be a college student working with high school youth to change their communities!

Awkward Alicia

When I left Conference in 2011, I knew I probably hadn’t made it through the Texas Teen Ambassador application/interview process. The youth who were leading during Conference were far too awesome for me to ever fit in. I was intimidated to say the least, because I had seen a level of leadership set at a bar that was very high. However, I knew that I’d given my best effort during my interview and shared my experience and expertise to the best of my ability on my application. I just had to wait.

And in came the Acceptance Letter a few weeks later.

……..

My first In-Service as a TA was, quite frankly, one of the most stressful experiences of my life. There were people I didn’t know, words I didn’t understand, and what the heck is a teambuilding activity and why are we participating in so many?? My body doesn’t…

View original post 630 more words

Leave a Reply

